Nick Salmon

Independent Chairman

Nick was appointed as Chairman of South East Water on 1st April 2015. He brings a wealth of experience from a number of senior roles and an engineering background.

Nick is currently Senior Independent Director of Elementis plc and a Non-Executive Director at Interserve plc  and Acal plc. Nick served as the Senior Independent Director of United Utilities Group from 2007 to 2014. He was Chief Executive of Cookson Group from 2004 until the end of 2012 and prior to that an Executive Vice President of Alstom SA and Chief Executive of Babcock International Group.

Nick holds a BSc. Degree in Mechanical Engineering and is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Paul Butler

Managing Director

Paul has a wealth of water industry experience, having previously been Managing Director of Mid Kent Water from 2001 to 2006 and Chairman of UKWIR, a water industry research organisation from 2005 to 2012.

A Chartered Accountant, he previously worked for Mid Kent Water as Group Financial Controller, Ernst and Young and Marks and Spencer.

Andrew Farmer

Finance Director

Andrew has held a number of senior management posts in finance, most recently at MAG plc, the country's largest UK owned airport operator, and Doosan Power Systems, a leading manufacturing, energy technologies and services company.

Andrew qualified as a Chartered Accountant with PriceWaterhouseCoopers in London and then after a number of years in investment banking, he became the Investor Relations director for two FTSE 250 companies.


David Hinton

Asset and Regulation Director

David has more than 17 years’ experience at South East Water with a Masters in Business Administration. His most recent post as Head of Assets and Economic Regulation follows a number of roles within the Company including Head of Water Quality and Head of Business Planning as well as experience elsewhere within scientific consultancies and the Public Health Laboratory Service.

John Barnes

Independent Non-Executive Director
John was appointed to the Board in January 2016. Prior to his more recent involvement with a start-up company developing renewable energy schemes John had gained over thirty years’ experience in the Water sector, mainly in the UK, but with spells in the Middle East and New Zealand.  Previous roles for John include Contracts Director at Water Engineering Ltd and Chief Operating Officer at United Utilities. John is a non-executive director of the Mid-Cheshire Hospitals Foundation Trust and is Executive Chair of All Change for Crewe, focussed on making the most of inward investment to the town.

Chris Girling

Independent Non-Executive Director

An experienced finance professional, Chris Girling has a background in a variety of sectors, including construction, support services, pharmaceuticals and aerospace. Chris retired as Group Finance Director of FTSE 250 Carillion Plc in 2007 and since then he has chaired three audit committees and one pension fund.

Marissa Szczepaniak


Non-Executive Director - Shareholder Nominated

“Marissa is Investment Director at Vantage Infrastructure responsible for infrastructure and was appointed to the South East Water board in December 2016. Marissa has a Bachelor of Science in finance, accounting and economics and is also a non-executive director at rail company Porterbrook.”

Célia Pronto

Independent Non-Executive Director

Célia was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 1 June 2018 and has a wealth of experience and expertise of the service sector in a range of industries. Célia is currently Chief Customer and Digital Officer of Casual Dining Group Ltd. She was previously Group Marketing & E-Commerce Director and board member of the Ford Retail Group. Célia is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Yes to Life, a cancer charity.

Stephen Jordan

Non-Executive Director - Shareholder Nominated

Stephen joined the South East Water board in August 2018 as a representative of Morrison & Co. He has more than 15 years’ experience in asset management with his current responsibilities including portfolio management, investment across mandates and deal origination on behalf of institutional clients. At Morrison & Co Stephen has worked across a range of infrastructure sub-sectors, predominantly in energy and utilities. He has a specialist interest in hydrocarbon markets.


Image coming soon

Launch Recite Me web accessibility software

Return to top